How may I help you?

August 1, 2008

 

I’m Angela Smith, KETC staff member, and I am not a mortgage expert.

 

I started here as an intern in January. A large part of that internship was communicating with our viewers about TV’s upcoming transition from analog to digital broadcasting. After speaking with close to 3000 viewers on the phone, it occurred to me that perhaps I should feel burnt out, but I felt the exact opposite. I loved taking complicated technical information and putting it in a language we could all understand, and more than that I loved reaching the “Aha!” moment with viewers when they’d found the answers they were searching for.

 

When the internship ended in May, I was hired on to assist with Facing the Mortgage Crisis. Again I’ve had the privilege of interacting with the St. Louis community, but under graver circumstances. I’ve heard stories from some of you that have broken my heart and others that have given me a lot of hope in this situation.  All of your stories give me more drive than ever to do the research, talk to the experts and provide you with the best information possible.

 

I’ve certainly read the newspapers and researched all things mortgage related to become as literate as I can, but that doesn’t make me an expert. I’m not qualified to counsel you about mortgage or foreclosure. I can’t tell you to buy, sell or refinance, but it’s important to me that I connect you to the experts who can.  Not just their phone numbers and e-mail addresses, but what they’ve done in the past and what they might be able to do for you.     

 

Like many of you, I’m still learning about the way the mortgage crisis affects me and the rest of St. Louis–all of St. Louis. We’re overloaded with local and national news coverage of the mortgage crisis, and it’s difficult to know what’s current or accurate. I’ll do my best to make sure you’re clear on both by posting frequently.

 

This is about you. This is about your community and its future. What story isn’t being told? What do you want to know more about? I encourage your comments, tips, experiences and suggestions as we face the mortgage crisis together.  

One Response to How may I help you?

  1. robpatrob says:

    Welcome Angela – Rob

Leave a Reply

