Children & Foreclosures: The Economic Crisis Hits Home

March 11, 2009

WHAT: “Children & Foreclosures: The Economic Crisis Hits Home”
WHEN: March 12, 2009 from 7:45 AM – 9:45 AM
WHERE: Children’s Agenda/VCR Offices, 2401 N. Grand Blvd.

On Thursday, March 12 please join us in the Vision for Children at Risk/St. Louis Children’s Agenda offices for a webcast presented by Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago and the Urban Institute on the effects of mortgage foreclosures on children.

Join us as we investigate such issues as:

• foreclosures’ effects on kids and the research needed to understand those outcomes better;
• the circumstances of families seeking help and local strategies to prevent foreclosures;
• strategies for stabilizing neighborhoods hit hard by the housing market’s collapse; and
• the opportunities and challenges for states, localities, service organizations, and families presented by Washington’s would-be remedies

Panelists:
• Malcolm Bush, research fellow, Chapin Hall at the University of Chicago
• Ingrid Gould Ellen, co-director, Furman Center for Real Estate and Urban Policy, New York University
• Olivia Golden (moderator), institute fellow, Urban Institute; former assistant secretary for children and families, U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
• Thomas Perez, Maryland secretary of labor, licensing and regulation
• Others to be announced

To register for the webcast call 314-534-6015 or e-mail vcr@visionforchildren.org

My Career Search: Lauren Schwarze

March 11, 2009

Hi, my name is Lauren and I’m one of the interns for Facing the Financial Crisis. I’m a senior at Washington University, and working on this project has hit especially close to home for me. Though I won’t be graduating until May, I’ve begun my job search, and it’s definitely not what I thought it would be. For four years I’ve been preparing to enter the “real world,” to find my dream job, to move out on my own. But then the financial crisis hit. The unemployment rate is the highest it’s been in years, and more and more companies aren’t hiring.

I’ve sent out a lot of resumes and cover letters, and I’ve had a few good responses—by good, I mean the company liked my resume, but they’d just had to lay off some of their employees, so they’re not looking to hire. I’m determined to stay optimistic through all of this. It’s a tough job market for everyone, but we’ll get through this.

In times like these, it’s good to know you’re not alone. That’s why we’ll be starting a new series here where students share a little about their job searches in this tough economy. For the first video, I talk a little bit about my own search. Keep an eye out for new videos we’ll be posting in the coming weeks.