The American Dream

President and CEO of Beyond Housing – Chris Krehmeyer – talks about what the American Dream means to him, and how he has seen it change ove the course of his life. Chris has a regular blog, which you can find by clicking here  and regularly posts to his twitter account www.twitter.com/chriskbeyond.

I was born on the last of 1961 and just about everyone in my generation and the generation before me had a notion that the American Dream is rooted in buying your own single family home. That was our aspiration. It was a symbol of our success and then the springboard for our children’s success. Like me most working class people look to our homes to be our nesteggs to help build our wealth. We have some pension put away – a lot less now than a year ago but our homes were viewed as our “ticket” to both retirement and helping our childen and grandchildren.

The shift that that has taken place in the last 10-15 years where technology allows us to be incredibly mobile and have the world in our pockets leads me to believe that the idea of the American Dream is beginning to change and will indeed change significantly in years to come. My 20 year old Nick has told me that as of now he has no interest in owning a single family home like the one he grew up in – “maybe a condo” he says. I told him of my recent article in the paper and he informed me politely that he does not know anyone who reads a newspaper. Who am I to pass judgment on this next generation – I do want to pose a question;

What will be the next American Dream? Please let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

